Irondequoit Concert Band names outstanding young musicians



The Irondequoit Concert Band has announced the four winners of its 2021 Award for Outstanding Young Instrumental Musician.

The group awards this award to a student from each of the four Irondequoit colleges for their musicality and contribution to their school’s program. Students are chosen to receive the award by the director of their school’s orchestra.

The 2021 winners are Adam Belculfine, sixth grade from Rogers Middle School, Avery Esposito, fifth grade from Durand-Eastman Middle School, Clara Kneezel, fifth grade from Laurelton-Pardee Middle School, and Cydney Young, sixth grade, from Iroquois Middle School.

Belculfine plays both alto saxophone and baritone saxophone, sings in the choir and has tried out for drum ensemble this year. He received an outstanding rating for his piece Solo Fest in grade five and participated in this year’s virtual event. Group director Caitlin Doi said that although he was a distance learner, he remained diligent in his practice habits and challenged himself musically in new ways.

Esposito plays the flute in the Durand-Eastman Band and participates in solo festivals and school musicals. Group principal Alexa DiRaimo said she is a star musician with a positive attitude and serves as a role model for others in all aspects of the school.

Kneezel plays trumpet in the band, plays softball and basketball, and is a founding member of the Kindness Club of Laurelton-Pardee. In her leadership role with the Kindness Club, she helped organize a food drive for the Irondequoit Food Cupboard. Group manager David Savine said he picked her for this award because she works hard and is really interested in music.

Young plays the flute in the band and the Jazz Band, and has participated in the Solo Fest. Group director Rachel Britt said Young had overcome a rough start on the flute and, with determination and perseverance, proved she can overcome anything.

The students were recognized at their schools’ award assemblies at the end of the year. They received a trophy and monetary award from the group and had their name engraved on a plaque displayed in their school.

“These students are our future,” said conductor David Schantz. “We are always happy to support our schools and our young musicians. ”



Leave A Reply